U.S. Department of Transportation Modes

As was discussed in the Designated Employer Representative Training for Department of Transportation Compliance, mandated testing guidelines apply to all employees working in safety-sensitive positions in the transportation industry.

Within DOT there are six different transportation modes. These include:

U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) –
49 CFR Part 4, 5 & 16

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) –
49 CFR Part 382

Transit Administration (FTA) –
49 CFR Part 655

Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) –
49 CFR Part 120

Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) –
49 CFR Part 219

Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA)–
49 CFR Part 199

Businesses and organizations regulated by one of these modes generally follow DOT testing regulations, processes and protocols. However, individual modes also have their own, slightly different, requirements regarding particular testing procedures.

It is critical for the Designated Employer Representative to understand and follow the particular requirements of the transportation mode that regulates their industry. The employer risks non-compliance when following DOT procedures, but not those of their modal agency.

This course details the protocols and processes required by the U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) under 49 CFR Parts 4 & 16. 

Click on the lessons below to take the course.

DER Addendum: USCG – Modal Regulatory Guidelines DER Addendum: USCG – Post Accident/Reasonable Suspicion/Pre-Duty DER Addendum: USCG Employee & Supervisor Training Requirements DER Addendum: USCG – Reportable Employee Drug and Alcohol Violations DER Addendum: USCG – Records Retention