U.S. Department of Transportation Modes

As was discussed in the Designated Employer Representative Training for Department of Transportation Compliance, mandated testing guidelines apply to all employees working in safety-sensitive positions in the transportation industry.

Within DOT there are six different transportation modes. These include:

Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) –
49 CFR Part 219

Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) –
49 CFR Part 120

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) –
49 CFR Part 382

U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) –
49 CFR Part 4 & 16

Transit Administration (FTA) –
49 CFR Part 655

Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA)–
49 CFR Part 199

Businesses and organizations regulated by one of these modes generally follow DOT testing regulations, processes and protocols. However, individual modes also have their own, slightly different, requirements regarding particular testing procedures.

It is critical for the Designated Employer Representative to understand and follow the particular requirements of the transportation mode that regulates their industry. The employer risks non-compliance when following DOT protocols, but not those of their modal agency.

This course addendum details the protocols and processes required by the Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) under 49 CFR Part 219. DERs working in the railroad industry must be knowledgeable about these protocols and processes.

Click on the lessons below to take the course.

DER Addendum: FRA – Modal Regulatory Guidelines DER Addendum: FRA Post Accident/Reasonable Suspicion or Cause/Alcohol Use Prohibitions DER Addendum: FRA – Employee & Supervisor Training Requirements DER Addendum: FRA – Reporting Employee Drug and Alcohol Violations DER Addendum: FRA – Records Retention