U.S. Department of Transportation Modes

As was discussed in the Designated Employer Representative Training for Department of Transportation Compliance, mandated testing guidelines apply to all employees working in safety-sensitive positions in the transportation industry.

Within DOT there are six different transportation modes. These include:

Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) –
49 CFR Part 120

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) –
49 CFR Part 382

Transit Administration (FTA) –
49 CFR Part 655

U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) –
49 CFR Part 4 & 16

Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) –
49 CFR Part 219

Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA)–
49 CFR Part 199

Businesses and organizations regulated by one of these modes generally follow DOT testing regulations, processes and protocols. However, individual modes also have their own, slightly different, requirements regarding particular testing procedures.

It is critical for the Designated Employer Representative to understand and follow the particular requirements of the transportation mode that regulates their industry. The employer risks non-compliance when following DOT protocols, but not those of their modal agency.

This course details the protocols and processes required by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) under 49 CFR Part 120. DERs working for airlines and other businesses and organizations in the aviation industry must be knowledgeable about these protocols and processes.

Click on the lessons below to take the course.

DER Addendum: FAA – Regulatory Guidelines DER Addendum: FAA Post-Accident/Reasonable Suspicion/Pre-Duty Testing DER Addendum: FAA – Employee & Supervisor Training Requirements DER Addendum: FAA – Reportable Employee Drug and Alcohol Violations DER Addendum: FAA – Records Retention